Let’s Talk: Going From 800 Calories A Day To 3000!

WHAT I EAT IN A DAY!

It was a HUGE change going from my restrictive diet of around 800 calories a day to my now in-recovery typical day count of between 2500-3000.

I thought I’d go through what I’m eating to show that the foods I’m eating are SO RICH in nutrients, keep me full and energised, and allow me to do all the incredible things my body was made for. But most of all, this was how I learnt to NOT be scared of the numbers. Those numbers mean nothing. They make everything worse. So now, seeing these numbers, I’m not bothered. Because I was able to see past the awful feelings associated with a bigger number, and see the things that these foods (THAT ARE A NORMAL INTAKE FOR SOMEONE MY AGE AND GENDER!!!!) are not to be feared

So…

BREAKFAST:

  • 2 slices of rye bread
  • Vegemite, peanut butter, honey or NUTELLA (my favourite)
  • A bowl of granola with yoghurt and chia seeds
  • Fruit smoothie with almond milk
  • Coffee(!!!!!!)
  • Piece of fruit (normally a banana)

MORNING SNACK:

  • Piece of fruit
  • Biscuits, crackers and cheese with dip or popcorn
  • Probably a coffee, let’s be honest

LUNCH:

  • Sandwich with rye bread or a pita wrap WITH…
  • Chicken or ham
  • Avocado
  • Cheese
  • Spinach/rocket/lettuce
  • Then… something sweet – biscuits, chocolates
  • Sometimes a piece of fruit

AFTERNOON SNACK:

This is the time where I get ALL of the cravings haha! So I’ll normally opt for a piece of cake or something that my brain wants, because I put full trust in that that is what I need

  • ?Cake, ?Chips, ?Nutella toast

DINNER:

This changes all the time! I never have the same thing in less than 10 days normally… normally longer!
But it will always consist of:

  • A source of protein (chicken, pork, beef, lamb, fish, turkey)
  • A source of carbs (rice, potatoes, pasta, potato chips)
  • Vegetables! (Salads or steamed veggies)

EVENING SNACK:

  • A piece of fruit OR fruit salad
  • Ice cream (it’s my weakness… hello cookie dough!)
  • Occasionally cake or slices or cupcakes/whatever I’ve baked or bought from the store

So there you go! Typical day for me in terms of meals. It was terrifying at the start, but I feel so strong, and really, REALLY proud of myself for sticking with it. I am able to practice nursing and midwifery, I am able to be safe when I work. I can give back to everyone who helped me. I can give back to the community.

Life is so wonderful, you only get one chance at it. I wasted enough time already, I am so happy that I can now get it back.

gif3_0

Leave a comment